Eight Stages Of Person’s Life (Western)

Throughout the entire life, a person experiences physical and emotional changes. Psychologist Erik Erikson categorized the human life into eight stages from birth until death, depending on the cooperation of body, mind, and ego.

Infancy (Birth to eighteen months):
This stage is represents the dependence of the infant on the mother for basic nourishment. The baby sees the world through the parents. If all the needs of the infant are fulfilled at this stage, a basic knowledge of thrust and confidence is cultivated.

Early childhood (Eighteen months to 2 to 3 years):
In this stage, also parents’ remains as the main purposes of security, the baby tries to master skills like walking, talking, and feeding on their own (independently). Encouragement from the parents will induce liberty while abusing and restricting the child will create shame and doubt.

Play age or preschool (3 to 5 years):
At this stage, the child learns to take initiative and to do the things on its own. He or she imitates the adults, which can be noticed from their role-plays. The child also experiences blame due to frustration and gains basic skills and principles. Children will develop courage and independence.

School age or childhood (6 to 12 years):
A sense of enthusiasm and patience is developed due to the access and creation of new skills and knowledge. The child will be active socially (polite) and any serious problem in confidence can result in inferiority. At this stage, the child checks his or her success and worthfullness. They will know about their individuality and try to do the right things. It is the best stage for the improvement of self-confidence.

Adolescence (12 to 18 years):
At this stage, life becomes more complex as there is a struggle to find the identity and to approach social and moral issues. The identity struggle is to recognize an individuality that is independent from the family but as a part of society.

Young adult (18 to 35 years):
Affection is developed as more credit is done for building relationships, either through marriage or through friendships. If there is failure, or any failure in developing affection, then it results in isolation. The relationships are mainly with the spouse and friends.

Middle adulthood (35 to 55 years):
More importance is given to work, and the person is committed to creative and meaningful issues. Productivity, conveying cultural values, and working for the progress of society will occupy the person. The relationship is mainly with the family and workplace.

Late adulthood (55 years till death):
Happiness and comfort for a life of a well lived contributes to a sense of honor. There is a fulfilling attitude to the life and provide meaning to it. The relationship will be with the entire mankind.

Different experiences and aptitude will carry a person from one stage to another. Contradiction things like good and bad, independent and dependent, leader or follower etc. will guide the person’s life.

You may also like to read:
Four Stages Of Person’s Life (Indian)


Comments are closed.