Postal Department to Set up 1,000 ATMs Across 6 States

The Postal Department is planning to set up 1,000 Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) across six states – Tamilnadu, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Assam, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh. The department plans to start execution of this programme across six states by the end of this year.

The Department of Post (DOP) has selected five major technology based companies for its five technology advancement projects. It has issued ‘Letter of Intent’ to Tata Consultancy Services for Change Management, to Infosys for two projects – Rural System and Financial Services Integration, to Reliance Communications Infrastructure for Data Centre and to Sify for Network Integration.

DOP has received approval for Rs.1,877 crore which is to be spent across these five projects over a period of two years and it will seek additional funds when the need arises. Moreover, the Department of Post will computerise all of its 1.6 lakh post offices across the country by 2013 with over 24,000 postal department offices already computerised by March.

Comments are closed.